Why Get a West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
The 3 main reasons why you would want to get a WV Medical card are:
- Protection Under State Law. The card will allow you to legally possess and consume medical marijuana products within the state of West Virginia.
- Access to Dispensaries. The card will allow you to purchase medical marijuana products from any licensed dispensary within the state of West Virginia and any state that offers reciprocity. Virtually ALL forms will be available including flower, pills, oil, topicals, tinctures, liquids and more!
- Ongoing Patient Care. As a cardholder you will be able to receive ongoing support and treatment assistance through our provider and staff, as well as through the budtenders at the dispensaries. Together we will ensure that you are receiving the most effective treatment possible using Medical Marijuana.
Am I Eligible to Get a West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
We have gathered all the information from the state that you need to make it easy to find out if you qualify. You can also call or text our Contact Center at 240-356-1000 for more information. We are available 7 days a week from 9am-9pm!
What are the Qualifying Conditions to get approved for Medical Marijuana in West Virginia?
To qualify, you will need to be diagnosed with at least one of the following state-approved “serious medical conditions”:
- Chronic or intractable pain
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- HIV / AIDS
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Parkinson’s disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Intractable spasticity
- Huntington’s disease
- Crohn’s disease
- Intractable seizures
- Sickle cell anemia
- Terminal illness
How Do I Obtain a West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
We make obtaining your card easy! It basically comes down to just 2 steps:
- Schedule an appointment with our Licensed West Virginia Medical Marijuana Doctor to obtain your Written Certification Form.
- Register with the State as a patient and Submit your Application Online.
If you qualify, our doctor will issue the signed Written Certification Form immediately and our on-site support staff will then assist you in submitting your online application to the state that same day. Through our experience in many other Medical states, our Team has developed a great understanding of the Online State Application process. We are happy to offer this complimentary service to you!
Is Approval by the Medical Marijuana Doctor guaranteed?
Only our licensed Medical Marijuana Doctor can determine if you qualify for the program, so we cannot guarantee your approval. However, if you do not get approved by our doctor you will receive a FULL refund! Our knowledgeable and friendly support staff is ready to help get you fully prepared for your appointment so that you have the best chance of approval, just give us a call at 240-356-1000 if you would like to know more.
When Can I register with the State to Obtain my West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
The West Virginia Department of Health and Human Resources recently opened the State Medical Marijuana Registry on February 3, 2021. This means that you can now register with the state of West Virginia as a Medical Marijuana Patient and submit your application. The first step is to get certified by a WV Medical Marijuana Doctor.
How long does it take to get approved and to receive my West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
It can take up to 30 days to receive the electronic copy of your West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card once you have submitted your online application and mailed in your application fee.
How much does a West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card cost?
The evaluation fee to see our Medical Marijuana Doctor is $200 for in-person consultations or $195 for Telemedicine (online virtual consultation). While some other doctors in the state require you to come back for multiple follow-up visits within the year, we only require you to be evaluated once per year to remain certified. The annual State application fee is $50.
Will Insurance cover any costs associated with obtaining the West Virginia Medical Marijuana card?
Insurance programs unfortunately do not cover any costs related to obtaining your Medical Marijuana due to conflicts with Federal Law. Our in-person evaluation fee can be paid by cash, credit, or debit while Telemedicine is payable by credit or debit only. The state fee is payable by check or money order only.
Where Can I Purchase Medical Marijuana Once I Obtain my WV Medical Card?
West Virginia Medical Marijuana Cardholders will be able to purchase products from any licensed dispensary within the state of West Virginia, as well as at dispensaries in other states that offer reciprocity for WV Medical Cards. There will be upwards of 100 dispensaries located throughout the state of West Virginia, to find out more information visit our dispensary locations page.
What Forms of Medical Marijuana will be available to purchase?
West Virginia recently added cannabis flower to the approved forms of Medical Marijuana allowed in the state, this means that virtually ALL forms of Medical Marijuana will be available for purchase at state-licensed dispensaries. This includes pills, oils, topicals, flower, tinctures, liquids, dermal patches, and more.
How much Medical Marijuana will I be able to purchase as a West Virginia cardholder?
West Virginia Medical Marijuana Cardholders will be able to purchase up to a 30-day supply of Medical Marijuana products each month, as determined by their certifying Medical Marijuana Doctor and licensed Medical Dispensaries. The exact amount has not yet been determined.
How much will Medical Marijuana cost at West Virginia dispensaries?
The pricing for Medical Marijuana products will be determined by individual dispensaries, so at this point, we do not have a definitive answer regarding how much they will cost. Patients will not have a set amount they must purchase and will be able to go to dispensaries to purchase products as needed, which makes the cost of obtaining Medical Marijuana flexible.
Will insurance cover the cost of Medical Marijuana at West Virginia dispensaries?
Unfortunately, no. Insurance programs do not cover Medical Marijuana products due to conflicts with Federal Law. Dispensaries typically accept cash only but it does vary, so we recommend contacting individual dispensaries directly to find out more.
Can I grow Medical Marijuana as a cardholder in West Virginia?
Not at this time. Patients will have to purchase their Medical Marijuana products from licensed dispensaries within the state of West Virginia or at dispensaries in other states that offer reciprocity.
Can I use my West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card in other Medical States?
Possibly. Reciprocity laws differ from state to state, but if another state’s Medical Marijuana Program is similar enough to West Virginia’s then they may accept West Virginia Medical Cards at dispensaries within their state. The best way to find out is by contacting a dispensary that will be near you in the state you are interested in visiting.
Will anyone be able to find out that I have obtained my West Virginia Medical Marijuana Card?
No, as a medical patient you are protected by HIPAA. We make the privacy and security of our patients’ confidential information a top priority. No one will be able to find out your status as a Medical Marijuana patient unless you openly tell them or if you are administered a drug screening.
Can My Employer Still Administer a Marijuana Drug Screening If I am a West Virginia Medical cardholder?
Yes. There is not currently any legislation in place that provides Medical Marijuana patients protection in the workplace from either receiving drug screenings or receiving disciplinary action regarding the results of a drug screening. For this reason, we recommend making sure you are fully aware of your employer’s policy regarding drug screenings and medical marijuana before moving forward with the process.
What is a Caregiver when it comes to Medical Marijuana in West Virginia?
A caregiver is an individual at least 21 years of age who is designated to be able to purchase Medical Marijuana products from dispensaries on behalf of a qualified patient. Patients under the age of 18 are required to have a caregiver. Patients can have up to two designated caregivers, while a caregiver can have up to 5 patients.
How do I become a Caregiver for Medical Marijuana in the state of West Virginia?
Those interested in becoming a caregiver for a West Virginia Medical Marijuana Patient must register and apply with the state, pay the $50 application fee and submit to a criminal history background check.